Home Technology The New AWS Certified Security – Specialty Exam: What You Should Know

The New AWS Certified Security – Specialty Exam: What You Should Know

by blogsrack
0 comment
The New AWS Certified Security - Specialty Exam: What You Should Know


In the fast-paced world of cloud computing, security is of paramount importance. With businesses migrating to cloud-based infrastructures, the demand for skilled professionals who can ensure robust security measures has skyrocketed. The AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam is designed to validate the expertise of IT professionals in securing Amazon Web Services (AWS) environments. In this article, we will explore what the AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam entails, its key objectives, and essential tips for successfully obtaining this prestigious certification.

Understanding the AWS Certified Security – Specialty Exam

The AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam is an advanced-level certification that evaluates an individual’s ability to implement security solutions in AWS environments effectively. It is intended for security professionals, solutions architects, and anyone responsible for designing and securing AWS infrastructures.

Key Objectives of the Exam

The AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam focuses on specific domains that are crucial for securing AWS environments. Some of the key objectives include:

1. Identity and Access Management (IAM)

IAM is a foundational element of AWS security. The exam tests candidates’ proficiency in managing user identities, roles, and permissions within AWS services.

2. Detective Controls

Detective controls involve monitoring and logging activities to detect potential security threats and breaches. Test-takers should demonstrate their expertise in setting up and using various AWS logging and monitoring services.

3. Infrastructure Protection

Candidates are expected to possess in-depth knowledge of securing AWS infrastructure components, such as VPCs, security groups, and network access control lists (ACLs).

4. Data Protection

Data protection is a critical aspect of any cloud environment. The exam evaluates candidates’ understanding of data encryption, key management, and data access controls.

5. Incident Response

The ability to respond swiftly and effectively to security incidents is vital. The exam assesses candidates’ knowledge of incident response best practices within AWS.

6. Governance, Risk, and Compliance (GRC)

Candidates should have a good grasp of GRC principles, including compliance frameworks, risk management, and audit processes in the AWS context.

Preparing for the AWS Certified Security – Specialty Exam

Achieving the AWS Certified Security – Specialty certification requires diligent preparation. Here are some essential tips to help you succeed:

1. Review AWS Security Documentation

AWS provides comprehensive security documentation and whitepapers. Familiarize yourself with the AWS Security Best Practices Guide and other relevant resources to gain a solid understanding of AWS security principles.

2. Hands-On Experience

Hands-on experience is invaluable when preparing for the exam. Practice implementing security measures in a live AWS environment and familiarize yourself with AWS security tools.

3. Take Official AWS Training

AWS offers official training courses specifically tailored for the AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam. These courses cover all the key objectives and provide valuable insights from certified instructors.

4. Leverage Practice Exams

Take advantage of practice exams to assess your knowledge and identify areas that require further study. Practice exams help you get accustomed to the format and structure of the actual test.

5. Join AWS Community Forums

Engage with the AWS community on forums and discussion boards. Participating in discussions allows you to learn from others’ experiences and gain valuable tips for the exam.

6. Time Management

The exam has a time limit, so effective time management is crucial. During your preparation, practice answering questions under time constraints to improve your speed and accuracy.


What is the prerequisite for the AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam?

To take the AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam, candidates must have at least two years of hands-on experience securing AWS workloads.

How long is the AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam?

The exam duration is 170 minutes.

How many questions are there in the exam?

The exam consists of approximately 65 multiple-choice and multiple-answer questions.

What is the passing score for the AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam?

The passing score is subject to change but is generally around 750 out of 1000.

How long is the AWS Certified Security – Specialty certification valid?

The certification is valid for three years, after which candidates need to recertify.

Can I retake the exam if I don’t pass?

Yes, candidates can retake the exam after a 14-day waiting period.


The AWS Certified Security – Specialty exam is a highly respected certification that validates your expertise in securing AWS environments. By focusing on the key exam objectives, leveraging practical experience, and using official AWS resources, you can confidently prepare for and ace the exam. Obtaining this certification not only enhances your career prospects but also demonstrates your commitment to maintaining robust security measures in the cloud computing landscape.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us

Blogsrack keeps you informed with the latest and most urgent news, delivering updates on a wide range of topics such as Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Technology, and more.

Feature Posts


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!