Home Sports World Cup 2023 Schedule: India’s 9 League Games

World Cup 2023 Schedule: India’s 9 League Games

by blogsrack
0 comment
World Cup 2023 Schedule: India's 9 League Games

In the highly anticipated World Cup 2023, the Indian cricket team is all set to embark on their campaign with nine league games. Led by Rohit Sharma, Team India will kickstart their journey by taking on the formidable Australia, a five-time champion, in Chennai on October 8.

As the reigning champions of the 2011 World Cup, India will continue their quest for glory as they face Afghanistan on October 11 in New Delhi. They will then travel to Ahmedabad for an epic showdown against arch-rivals Pakistan on October 15. The men in blue will showcase their skills against Bangladesh on October 19 in Pune, followed by an exciting clash against New Zealand in the picturesque setting of Dharamsala.

With the ambition of securing their third World Cup title and the second on home soil, the Indian team will encounter defending champions England on October 29 in Lucknow. Their journey will then take them to Mumbai, where they will confront a yet-to-be-determined Qualifier team on November 2.

Excitement and anticipation fill the air as cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the thrilling matches and spectacular performances that the World Cup 2023 has in store. The Indian team, known for its strong lineup and exceptional talent, is determined to leave a mark on the tournament and etch their names in cricketing history once again.

India will then take on South Africa in Kolkata on November 5 and will play its last league game against a Qualifier in Bengaluru on November 11.  

Round-robin format

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the schedule for the highly anticipated World Cup, featuring an enthralling round-robin format. In this format, all 10 participating teams will engage in intense competition, facing each of the other nine teams. This means a total of 45 league matches will be played, showcasing the skill and prowess of cricketing nations worldwide.

The round-robin format ensures that every team has an equal opportunity to prove their mettle against their counterparts. Each match holds great significance as teams battle it out to secure a spot in the coveted knockout stage of the tournament.

After the completion of the league stage, the top four teams with the highest points will advance to the knockout stage, where the intensity reaches new heights. The knockout matches, filled with suspense and nail-biting moments, will determine which teams proceed to the semifinals and ultimately contend for the prestigious World Cup title.

World Cup match timings 

The tournament consists of a total of six day matches that are scheduled to commence at 10:30 AM IST. On the other hand, all remaining matches, including the knockouts, will be held as day-night fixtures beginning at 2 PM IST.

Upon completion of the group stage, the top four teams will earn qualification for the semifinals. These semifinal matches are scheduled to take place in Mumbai on November 15 and in Kolkata on November 16. It is worth noting that reserve days have been allocated for both the semifinals and the final matches.

India ODI World Cup 2023 Full Schedule

  • India vs Australia, Oct 8, Chennai 
  • India vs Afghanistan, Oct 11, Delhi 
  • India vs Pakistan, Oct 15, Ahmedabad 
  • India vs Bangladesh, Oct 19, Pune 
  • India vs New Zealand, Oct 22, Dharamsala 
  • India vs England, Oct 29, Lucknow 
  • India vs Qualifier 2, Nov 2, Mumbai 
  • India vs South Africa, Nov 5, Kolkata 
  • India vs Qualifier 1, Nov 11, Bengaluru.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us

Blogsrack keeps you informed with the latest and most urgent news, delivering updates on a wide range of topics such as Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Technology, and more.

Feature Posts


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!